My Cryptic Social Media Posts Will Alarm and Confuse You

Don’t you want to know what I’m talking about?

James Klein
3 min readJul 20, 2023

First published July 18, 2023 in Points In Case

You can see from my social media that something is happening to me. Or it could be someone else. In any case, it’s a big deal. Or it’s insignificant. But there’s definitely good news. Or a catastrophe. You’ll only find out by asking what I meant.

That’s when I have you, caught in my thirst trap. You can try deciphering my ambiguous responses in the comments section, but you’ll never learn what the actual fuck is going on with me.

Try these cryptic posts to get the dopamine hit of attention you’re craving!

“Everything must come to an end.”

Did I just tell you I’m dying, or that I finished The Legend of Zelda? You’ll check my feed to see how other people are reacting, but everyone is being vague, because they don’t know either.

“Ten years and counting!”

What happened ten years ago? Did I get married? Divorced? Sober? Jailed? If you ask, I’ll reply, “Time goes so fast!” or “I can’t believe it’s been that long!” or anything else that tells you little more than my original post, which told you practically nothing.

“Thanks for supporting me during this time.”

--

--

James Klein

My dog thinks I’m cool. Humor in McSweeney’s, Slackjaw, Points in Case, Greener Pastures, and others. All of it at jameskleinhumor.com.